MapInfo Pro

View Only
  • 1.  How can I calculate bearing / direction between points?

Posted 09-20-2018 10:09

I have a MapInfo table of points and I need to populate a column with bearing / direction from a point (or polygon centroid) in another table.  Is there a MapBasic tool to do this?  I am not a developer, just a user, and have MapInfo Professional v11.5.  Many thanks?

• 2.  RE: How can I calculate bearing / direction between points?

Posted 09-21-2018 02:19

You would need Route data for the respective country and the extension called " Route Finder " to calculate the Turn by turn directions , Shortest / Fastest Route .

• 3.  RE: How can I calculate bearing / direction between points?

Employee
    Posted 09-21-2018 07:11

From the question I don't see that it's necessary to use a routing software to do this. I think @Jane Mason? only want to know the direction (in degrees) from one point towards another point.

Unfortunately, MapBasic doesn't come with a function like that out-of-the-box so we need to write the function and then use it in a query or update statement.

Jane, how do you determine what points from table A you want to connect to which point(s) in table B?

• 4.  RE: How can I calculate bearing / direction between points?

Posted 09-21-2018 07:21

Thank you Krishna and Peter - Peter is right in that I only want to know the direction from one point to another point.?  In the case for which I need this, it is all points in table A want to link to just the one point which would exist in table B - although in future there could be more than one point in table B, so table A would have an ID column giving the ID of which point in table B it links to.  I hope this makes sense - may thanks!

• 5.  RE: How can I calculate bearing / direction between points?

Employee
    Posted 09-24-2018 06:29

I found a tool on MapInfo-L, that might help you out.