MapInfo Pro

View Only
  • 1.  Editing of maps in Layout windows...

Posted 11-08-2021 10:33
    Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to MapInfo, so my problem could be either a software issue or, more likely, a user-related problem.

I have a workspace with a main Mapper window. For reporting purpose, I have created 8 or 9 different layouts that have an inserted version of the main map window. For each layout the map has been tweaked, some layers removed, labels added, or thematic layers created. Layout windows have been unchecked, so that they don't clutter my worksapce, but are still available and re-appear when I check then again from the Explorer Window tab. A few days later, as I want to come back and modify my layouts, which are used to generate figure for reports, I find myself unable to edits some of the layouts. All my layouts appears in the Layouts list and I am able to open the layout again. However, for some of the layout, even when I activate the map in the layout, there is no corresponding active maps that appears in the Explorer Map browser list.  Therefore I cannot turn on of off layers, change the symbols or change the order of the layer. Is there a way to access the layers list and edits a map that is included in an active layout, but does not have and active map window anymore? Thank you in advance for the suggestions.

Regards,
    Simon

------------------------------
    Simon Gagne
    Knowledge Community Shared Account

• 2.  RE: Editing of maps in Layout windows...

Employee
    Posted 11-10-2021 09:24
    Hi Simon

I just tried to see if I could reproduce your scenario and maybe figure out if there is something that could mislead you to think you can't access the maps.

I haven't used the option to hide windows that much yet.
    I created a new workspace with four layouts each with two maps. I turned of the visibility of three of the layouts, save my workspace, closed it and reopened it.