The account hierarchy has been updated within Communicate to add teams within companies (accounts as they're now known). This change allows accounts to have sub accounts and users to be split into teams. For example, the account hierarchy could be as follows:
- Top Level Account 1
- Partner 1
- Partner 1 Client 1
- Partner 1 Client 2
- Partner 2
- Top Level Account 2
With each account having one or more teams. Each account, when created, contains a single team called General. The user which created the account is added to the General team with the admin role and made an account admin of the account.
The account/team hierarchy can be used to separate companies and business units to restrict who has access to projects, templates, data etc.
Switching Accounts and Teams
Clicking your name in the header (on the right hand side) will show a popup list of upto six of your last used teams. If you are a member of more than six teams, a "View all teams" option will appear which will display a modal with a list of all teams to which you are a member.
If you are a member of more than one account, a "Switch accounts" option will appear below the name of the currently active account. Clicking this option will display a modal with a list of the accounts to which you are a member. Once an account is selected, the "General" team will be activated (if it exists and you are a member), or else, the first available team.
Account Settings Page
The account settings page will allow the user to administer accounts, teams, users, client credentials (for calling APIs) and sender email addresses (used for sending emails). This page can be accessed by clicking the "settings" cog in the profile dropdown menu which appears when clicking your name in the header (on the right hand side).
Typically a company will have a single account with one or more teams. Each account can have any number of sub-accounts. These sub-accounts could be a partner or client of an account. Again, each sub-account can have one or more teams.
If you have permission to do so, a new account or sub-account can be created by clicking the "Add new account" option in the appropriate account dropdown. For example, to create a new top level account, the option under the first (left most) dropdown should be clicked. If a new sub-account is required, the parent account (or sub-account) should be selected and then the "Add new account" option in the account dropdown to the right of the selected parent account should be clicked.
Creating a new account requires a name only. As part of the account creation process, a single team called "General" will be created with yourself as the admin user of the team. Once the account is created additional teams can be created and users can be added to teams.
A team belongs to a single account and contains one or more users (users can themselves be members of multiple teams and accounts). Each team has their own repository for projects, templates etc which are not accessible by members of other teams or accounts. This allows, for example, any assets or data to be kept away from other members of an account who should not have access.
Teams can be created, modified, cloned or deleted using the "Teams" tab on the "Account Settings" page.
The left hand list shows a list of teams which are associated with the currently selected account. Buttons at the bottom of the list (available for account admins only) allow new teams to be created, existing teams to be cloned (all users are copied but none of the projects, templates etc are copied) and teams to be deleted.
Selecting a team from the list will display the list of users which are a member of the team. Clicking the "Add user" button will show a list of users who are a member of the account which can be added using the "Add" button. Additional users (who are not a member of the account) can be added using the "Add by email" button.
The "Add by email" button will open a modal which will the details of the new user to be entered.
The "Users" tab on the "Account Settings" page displays a list of users which are a member of the currently selected account.
The list of users will display the names of the teams to which the user is a member. It also allows a user to be deleted. If an account user is deleted, they will also be removed from all teams within the currently selected account.
The "Client Credentials" tab on the "Account Settings" page displays a list of teams to which you have access and the client credentials which are associated with the selected team.
Additional client credentials can be added using the "Add credentials" button.
Existing client credentials can be removed if they are no longer required and the secret can be re-generated by clicking the regenerate button. This will invalidate the existing credentials so will prevent any integrations which use the existing client credentials to stop working.
Sender Email Addresses
The "Sender Email Addresses" tab on the "Account Settings" page displays a list of teams to which you have access and the sender email address which are associated with the selected team.
The sender email addresses are the email addresses which are allowed to send emails. These need to be verified so that emails can be sent from the email address. This is achieved by sending a verification email to the email address when it is added using the "Add address" button.
In addition to verifying the email address, DKIM should be added to the DNS records of the domain to help when deciding if a message is fraudulent or trustworthy.
Sender email addresses can be removed using the delete button if they are no longer required.
PITNEY BOWES SOFTWARE, INC