Automate

View Only
  • 1.  Microsoft Power Automate & Foundation

Posted 03-12-2024 13:39

Hi All

I am looking to use Power Automate to pull files from a user folder within the Query Data Files folder in Foundation, then email them to specific people. I have had success pulling a single specifically named file and emailing it. However, Power Automate can't seem to grab a file when added to the folder. Has anyone had any success with this?

• I am a Foundation application admin so I have ALL of the permissions. IT has also given me gateway access. 
    • If using Power Automate is not an option, is Winshuttle Foundation workflow an option? I started poking around workflow, however I don't seem to be finding what I need. 
    • I also don't have the ability to have the folder itself automatically share the files. The option is turned off and I'm not sure if this is a missing SharePoint function, or if it's just something that needs to be turned on within our servers. 

Any guidance, suggestions are greatly appreciated. 

------------------------------
    Vanessa Kutasi
    Foundation Admin./Application Analyst II
    Idexx Operations, Inc.
    USA

• 2.  RE: Microsoft Power Automate & Foundation

Employee
    Posted 03-13-2024 02:50

Hi Vanessa,

You can try creating a workflow with "Add Attachment" plugin to fetch the file on the form in an attachment element and then use "send email" plugin to email it to the users.

So typically your workflow will look like :

Start -> Add Attachment plugin -> send email plugin -> end.

Only shortcoming for this approach is that you can only pull one attachment at a time using add attachment plugin, so you need to have the exact name and number of the files to be fetched so that you can configure the "Add attachment plugin" accordingly.

please refer link on plugin guide for more details : https://winshuttle-help.s3.amazonaws.com/foundation/en/composer/composer-plugins-add-attachment.htm

Hope this helps.

Regards

Hammad Naeem